Skip to content
Berlin Center for Advanced Therapies · © DGI Bauwerk / Visualisierung: IMAGINA | Visual Collaboration
Rethinking Health

We are rethinking health

Since its foundation, Charité has helped to shape modern healthcare in Germany and Europe. In order to further advance and shape the future of health, care and research as an international driving force, Charité has developed the future vision “Charité 2030 – Rethinking Health”. Charité Executive Board member Prof. Dr. Hayo Kroemer has formulated groundbreaking goals together with managers and employees in the strategy process – both in terms of content and structure.

Grafik über Wechselwirkungen von Heilen, Lehren und Forschen

Three foundations

The three foundations of the future vision “Charité 2030”:

  • Understanding people in all their dimensions
    Charité understands people as a whole – from genes to personal surroundings. Based on this extended understanding of health, Charité develops personalised approaches to therapy and healing.
  • Opening up border areas
    Breaking down barriers and creating new opportunities is an important part of the vision of the future. Whether between subjects and disciplines, different treatment options or between science and industry – the COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated the performance possible through partnership and digital approaches.
  • Acting on scientific grounds
    The aim is to promote and establish bold, innovative research approaches that are reproducible and are directly derived from clinical issues. Collaboration is also a key factor here: with research organisations as well as with start-ups.
The vision in figures
Campus renewal period
2020–2050
Estimated required investment
EUR 6.6 billion

Four profiles, one vision

To implement the strategy Charité 2030, Charité is developing an independent profile for each of its campuses. They overlap and thus create the basis for targeted medical and structural further developments. These excellent content development areas are intertwined with new architectural structures.

Campuses often need to be fundamentally reconceived in order to implement the medical priorities of the future. This includes state-of-the-art IT infrastructure as well as ecological sustainability. Charité has formulated clear objectives for this: 20 percent reduction in CO2 emissions by 2028 compared to 2018. This corresponds to more than 25 thousand tonnes of CO₂ per year. Process planning must map these goals and respond to structural changes and requirements in addition to sustainability issues such as green IT and mobility.

The predominantly historic building stock is often a particular challenge here. More than half of Charité buildings were built before the 1980s, or they were last refurbished a long time ago. The majority of buildings are also listed. 

Forward-looking renewal concepts are being developed for all patient ward campuses in order to incorporate the excellent content-related fields of development with new architectural structures. These structural visions for the future are developed in multi-stage, dialogue-guided processes. A vision is planned for the New Charité, with which the university hospital is setting an example for the challenges of the future.

Grafik Schrägaufsicht CCM
Land development at Campus Charité Mitte
Grafik Schrägaufsicht CBF
Land development at Campus Benjamin Franklin
Grafik Schrägaufsicht CVK
Land development at Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • Heyo Kroemer

    We are rethinking health. Our integrated approach requires the right physical infrastructure.

    Prof. Dr. Heyo K. Kroemer, Chairman of the Board of Charité –Universitätsmedizin Berlin

For example, we are building Europe’s most modern heart center (DHZC), the pioneering research centers “The Simulated Human” (Si-M) and the “Berlin Center for Advanced Therapies” (BeCAT) at Campus Virchow-Klinikum, as well as the future translation center  (ATIZ) at Campus Charité Mitte, as important building blocks for the implementation of the strategic and structural visions of the New Charité.

Learn more about shaping the future
Broschüre
Read “Charité 2030” strategy on charite.de

Navigation überspringen
Berlin Center for Advanced Therapies © DGI Bauwerk / Visualisierung: IMAGINA
Rethinking Health

Wir denken Gesundheit neu

Die Charité hat moderne Gesundheitsversorgung in Deutschland und Europa seit ihrer Gründung mitgeprägt. Um die Zukunft der Gesundheit, der Versorgung und Forschung als treibende Kraft international weiter voranzutreiben und mitzugestalten hat die Charité die Zukunftsvision „Charité 2030 – Wir denken Gesundheit neu“ entwickelt. Der Charité-Vorstand Prof. Dr. Heyo Kroemer hat dazu gemeinsam mit Führungskräften und Beschäftigten im Strategieprozess wegweisende Ziele formuliert – inhaltlich wie baulich.

Grafik über Wechselwirkungen von Heilen, Lehren und Forschen

Die drei Säulen

Die drei Säulen der Zukunftsvision „Charité 2030“:

  • Menschen in all ihren Dimensionen begreifen
    Die Charité begreift den Menschen als Ganzes – von den Genen bis zur persönlichen Umwelt. Aus diesem erweiterten Gesundheitsverständnis heraus entwickelt die Charité personalisierte Ansätze für Therapie und Heilung.
  • Grenzbereiche erschließen
    Grenzen auflösen und neue Möglichkeiten schaffen ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Zukunftsvision. Ob zwischen Fächern und Disziplinen, verschiedenen Behandlungsmöglichkeiten oder zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie – die COVID-19-Pandemie hat gezeigt, welche Leistung durch partnerschaftliche und digitale Herangehensweisen möglich sind.
  • Handeln wissenschaftlich begründen
    Mutige, innovative Forschungsansätze sollen gefördert und etabliert werden, die reproduzierbar sind und sich direkt von klinischen Fragestellungen ableiten. Auch dafür ist Zusammenarbeit ein entscheidender Schlüssel: mit Forschungs­organisationen gleichermaßen wie mit Start-ups.
Die Vision in Zahlen
Zeitraum der Campuserneuerung
2020 – 2050
Geschätzter Investitionsbedarf
6,6 Mrd. Euro

Vier Profile, eine Vision

Zur Umsetzung der Strategie „Charité 2030“ entwickelt die Charité für jeden ihrer Campi ein eigenständiges Profil. Sie greifen ineinander und schaffen damit die Basis für gezielte medizinische und bauliche Weiterentwicklungen. Diese exzellenten inhaltlichen Entwicklungsfelder werden mit neuen baulichen Strukturen verschränkt.

Für die Umsetzung der medizinischen Zukunfts-Schwerpunkte müssen die Campi oft grundlegend neu gedacht werden. Hierzu zählen modernste IT-Infrastruktur ebenso wie ökologische Nachhaltigkeit. Die Charité hat dazu klare Ziele formuliert: Verringerung der CO₂-Emissionen bis 2028 im Vergleich zu 2018 um 20 Prozent. Dies entspricht mehr als 25 Tausend Tonnen CO₂ pro Jahr. Die Prozessplanung muss diese Ziele abbilden und neben den Nachhaltigkeitsthemen wie Green-IT und -Mobility auch bauliche Veränderungen und Anforderungen beantworten.

Der häufig historische Gebäudebestand ist hierbei oft eine besondere Herausforderung. Weit mehr als die Hälfte der Charité́-Bauten entstand vor den 1980er-Jahren, oder ihre Sanierung liegt lang zurück. Ein Großteil der Gebäude ist zudem denkmalgeschützt.

Um die exzellenten inhaltlichen Entwicklungsfelder mit neuen baulichen Strukturen zu verschränken werden für alle bettenführenden Campi zukunftsweisende Erneuerungskonzepte entwickelt. Diese baulichen Zukunftsvisionen werden in mehrstufigen, dialoggeführten Verfahren erarbeitet. Geplant ist eine Vision für die neue Charité, mit der das Universitätsklinikum Zeichen für die Herausforderungen der Zukunft setzt.

Grafik Schrägaufsicht CCM
Flächenentwicklung am Campus Charité Mitte
Flächenentwicklung am Campus Benjamin Franklin
Grafik Schrägaufsicht CVK
Flächenentwicklung am Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • Heyo Kroemer

    Wir denken Gesundheit neu. Für unseren ganzheitlichen Ansatz braucht es die passende bauliche Infrastruktur.

    Prof. Dr. Heyo K. Kroemer, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Als wichtige Bausteine der Realisierung der strategischen und baulichen Zukunftsvisionen der Neuen Charité errichten wir zum Beispiel Europas modernstes Herzzentrum (DHZC), die wegweisenden Forschungszentren „Der Simulierte Mensch“ (Si-M ) und das „Berlin Center for Advanced Therapies“ (BeCAT) am Campus Virchow-Klinikum sowie das Translationszentrum der Zukunft (ATIZ) am Campus Charité Mitte.

Mehr über die Zukunftsbausteine erfahren
Broschüre
Strategie „Charité 2030“ auf charite.de lesen